Nashville Pikes (Volume Four) Book

By Ridley Wills II

Nashville Pikes (Volume Four): 150 Years Along Charlotte, Clifton, and Hydes Ferry Pikes

Discover local history through this fourth installment of the Nashville Pikes book series, written by Ridley Wills II, telling the vibrant stories of the sites and people connected to the city’s historic turnpike system. This volume follows the Cumberland River through West Nashville, affording a deeper look into the area's early commerce and industry, profiling 93 historic locations along Charlotte, Clifton, and Hydes Ferry Pikes, including businesses, churches, Civil War sites, communities, hospitals, libraries, manufacturing companies, parks, roads, schools, stations, tollgates, an archaeological site, an art gallery, a bridge, a ferry, an orphanage, a prison, a racetrack, a theatre, as well as 33 homes.

Copies signed by the author!


Hardcover, 296 pages

ISBN: 9780692930076

Dimensions: 9.25"h x 6.5"w x 1"d


Members $35.95

(includes shipping and handling)

Shipped via USPS Media Mail Service within continental U.S. only.

Purchasing a gift and wish to include a note? Email museumshop@belmont.edu with your desired message after you place your order and we will include it on a note card with your gift’s shipment.

Elopement Packages at Belmont Mansion

Intimate and elegant wedding ceremonies are popular at Belmont Mansion! 


Visit BelmontMansionEvents.com to review options to Elope in Nashville at Belmont Mansion. 

Affordable Nashville Elopements start here!


Belmont Blvd & Acklen Avenue 

Nashville, TN 37212


1900 Belmont Blvd

Nashville, TN 37212


  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White Pinterest Icon

The architecture of Belmont Mansion makes it one of the most significant homes of 19th century Tennessee.

Sold by the Acklen family in 1887, the house went to a developer who began one of Nashville’s early suburbs.

It was then purchased by two women who in 1890 started a college which evolved into Belmont University. Today the Belmont Mansion Association, which was formed in 1972, owns the collection, runs the museum, and shares this unique story of 19th century Nashville with visitors from far and near.

Photos by Ed Houk